• Christoph Kniel

Stiftung Mercator's partner organizations

Achieving systemic impact through new institutions

We select the project type that we believe will be best suited to achieving the project objective in question. In some cases it may make sense to set up partner organizations in order to achieve the greatest possible systemic impact. We use different partners, structures and framework conditions to establish this particular form of long-term commitment to a project.

The key question is whether a partner organization will be able to fill a gap, and whether the requisite institutional expertise would not otherwise be available. Furthermore, partner organizations have the advantage of being able to focus on specific content and to work independently and flexibly. At the same time, they can make use of the experience of Stiftung Mercator and, if applicable, of other partners. We believe in cooperation in this context too, recruiting other partners wherever possible to found and support partner organizations.

At present, 13 partner organizations are working with us to achieve our objectives in our thematic clusters of Europe, Integration, Climate Change and Cultural Education.

 

 

Making the energy transition a success

Politicians in Germany have set themselves the ambitious goal of restructuring the energy sector and moving from coal-based and nuclear power to wind and solar energy. The Agora Energiewende illustrates possible ways of achieving this.

A successful transport transition is possible – if everyone works together.

The 2050 targets laid down in the Paris Agreement are ambitious. If Germany wishes to achieve these targets, a radical transition will be required – above all in the transport sector, which has been neglected for too long. The Agora Verkehrswende initiative will set in motion the necessary discourse in society.

Facts about the energy transition

Journalists often have to work to tight deadlines. To make sure that the quality of reporting on the complex subject of the energy transition does not suffer as a result, Clean Energy Wire (CLEW) supports media representatives by supplying them with reliable information.

Bringing young people together, promoting friendship

The German-Turkish Youth Bridge aims to intensify exchange between young people from Germany and Turkey with a view to strengthening relations between the two countries in the long term.

The path to a European perspective on China

The Mercator Institute for China Studies (MERICS) paints a realistic picture of China in Germany as a way of providing key information to politics, business and society.

Consolidating strengths in science

The Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR) promotes ambitious research projects and individuals aimed at driving forward cooperation between the universities of Bochum, Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen.

New prospects for the planet

The Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) is searching for practicable ways of using global resources sustainably – with a view to limiting climate change and controlling its consequences.

Language, the key to education

The Mercator Institute for Literacy and Language Education plans to bring about lasting improvements in language training in schools.

The non-profit organization MUTIK develops, plans and implements projects in the areas of cultural education and diversity. Projects such as “Culture Agents for Creative Schools”, “Creative Potentials in Dialogue” and “Art Labs” help to give all schoolchildren in Germany better opportunities to access high quality cultural education. The project “Young Islam Conference” offers young people, be they of migrant origin or not, a platform for knowledge acquisition, exchange and participation in social debates aimed at shaping the way people live together in a diverse society. As a Stiftung Mercator partner organization, MUTIK pursues its goals with other public- and private-sector institutions.

Cultural education for all

The Council for Cultural Education wishes to raise the quality and status of art, music, literature, dance and theatre in everyday life and make them accessible to as many people as possible.

RuhrFutur – a changing education landscape

RuhrFutur aims to combine and consolidate the strengths of many different educational partners in the Ruhr region – with a view to achieving equal opportunities in education.

The voice of science on the subject of immigration

Through its Annual Report, the Expert Council of German Foundations on Integration and Migration (SVR) makes sure that politicians are provided with a sound basis for taking decisions on the subject of migration – and that the issue is debated more objectively in society.

Opening, accompanying, strengthening – diversity in culture.

Society is changing, and with it the requirements for cultural institutions. The ZAK NRW teams up with cultural institutions to work out how they can successfully appeal to new target groups, while at the same time making their own services ready for the future.

• Christoph Kniel

Partnergesellschaften der Stiftung Mercator

Durch neue Institutionen systemisch wirken

Abhängig von dem Ziel, das wir mit einem Projekt verfolgen, wählen wir den Projekttyp aus, den wir am geeignetsten für das jeweilige Ziel erachten. Um eine möglichst große systemische Wirkung zu entfalten, kann es sinnvoll sein, Partnergesellschaften zu gründen. Diese besondere Form langfristig angelegten Engagements realisieren wir mit unterschiedlichen Partnern, Strukturen und Rahmenbedingungen.

Entscheidend ist dabei, ob durch eine neue Partnergesellschaft eine Lücke geschlossen werden kann und die jeweilige institutionelle Expertise noch nicht vorhanden ist. Partnergesellschaften haben zudem den Vorteil, dass sie sich inhaltlich stark fokussieren und dabei selbstständig und flexibel arbeiten können. Gleichzeitig können sie auf die Erfahrungen der Stiftung Mercator und gegebenenfalls weiterer Träger zurückgreifen. Auch hier setzen wir auf Kooperationen, indem wir nach Möglichkeit weitere Partner für die Gründung und Unterstützung von Partnergesellschaften gewinnen.

Aktuell arbeiten 13 Partnergesellschaften gemeinsam mit uns daran, unsere Ziele in den Clusterthemen Europa, Integration, Klimawandel und Kulturelle Bildung zu erreichen.

 

 

Die Energiewende zum Erfolg bringen

Mit dem Umbau der Stromversorgung weg von Kohle- und Kernkraft hin zu Wind- und Sonnenenergie hat sich die deutsche Politik ein ehrgeiziges Ziel gesetzt. Die Agora Energiewende zeigt mögliche Wege dorthin auf.

Die Verkehrswende kann gelingen – als Gemeinschaftsprojekt

Es sind ehrgeizige Ziele, die das Klimaschutzabkommen von Paris bis 2050 vorschreibt. Will Deutschland diese Ziele erreichen, ist eine radikale Wende erforderlich – vor allem im Verkehrsbereich, der zu lange vernachlässigt wurde. Die Initiative Agora Verkehrswende will dafür den nötigen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs anstoßen.

Fakten zur Energiewende

Journalisten arbeiten häufig unter Zeitdruck. Damit darunter nicht die Qualität der Berichterstattung zum komplexen Thema Energiewende leidet, unterstützt Clean Energy Wire (CLEW) die Medienvertreter mit seriösen Informationen.

Jugendliche zusammenbringen, Freundschaften stiften

Die Deutsch-Türkische Jugendbrücke will den Austausch junger Menschen zwischen Deutschland und der Türkei intensivieren, um die Beziehungen zwischen beiden Ländern langfristig zu stärken.

Auf dem Weg zu einem europäischen China-Verständnis

Das Mercator Institute for China Studies (MERICS) sorgt für ein realistisches China-Bild in Deutschland, um Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft mit grundlegenden Informationen zu dienen.

Die Kräfte in der Wissenschaft bündeln

Das Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR) fördert ambitionierte Forschungsprojekte und Personen, die die Zusammenarbeit der Universitäten Bochum, Dortmund und Duisburg-Essen voranbringen.

Neue Perspektiven für die Welt

Das Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) sucht nach praktikablen Wegen, wie sich globale Ressourcen nachhaltig nutzen lassen – und so der Klimawandel begrenzt und die Folgen beherrscht werden können.

Sprache, Schlüssel zur Bildung

Das Mercator-Institut für Sprachförderung und Deutsch als Zweitsprache will Sprachbildung an Schulen langfristig verbessern.

Die gemeinnützige MUTIK gGmbH entwickelt, plant und realisiert Projekte in den Bereichen kulturelle Bildung und Vielfalt. Projekte wie „Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen“, „Kreativpotentiale im Dialog“ und „Kunstlabore“ tragen dazu bei, bessere Zugangschancen zu qualitativ hochwertigen Angeboten kultureller Bildung für alle Schülerinnen und Schüler in Deutschland zu schaffen. Das Projekt „Junge Islam Konferenz“ bietet jungen Menschen mit und ohne Migrationshintergrund eine Plattform für Wissensgewinn, Austausch und Teilnahme an gesellschaftlichen Debatten zur Gestaltung des Zusammenlebens in einer vielfältigen Gesellschaft. Als Partnergesellschaft der Stiftung Mercator verwirklicht die MUTIK ihre Ziele mit weiteren öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen.

Kulturelle Bildung für alle

Der Rat für Kulturelle Bildung will die Qualität und den Stellenwert von Kunst, Musik, Literatur, Tanz und Theater im Alltag erhöhen und sie möglichst vielen Menschen zugänglich machen.

RuhrFutur – eine Bildungslandschaft im Aufbruch

RuhrFutur, eine gemeinsame Initiative von Stiftung Mercator, Land NRW, fünf Städten, sechs Hochschulen und Regionalverband Ruhr, soll die Kräfte für die Entwicklung des Bildungssystems in der Metropole Ruhr bündeln – und so für bessere Bildungschancen sorgen.

Sachliche Perspektiven in einer aufgeheizten Debatte

Der Sachverständigenrat deutscher Stiftungen für Integration und Migration (SVR) hat jedes Jahr einen großen Auftritt. Die Präsentation seines Jahresgutachtens wird bundesweit von allen relevanten Medien mit großem Interesse wahrgenommen. Kein Wunder: Der SVR hat sich als Stimme der Wissenschaft beim Thema Zuwanderung und Integration etabliert.

Öffnen, Begleiten, Stärken – Vielfalt in Kultur.

Die Gesellschaft wandelt sich – und mit ihr die Anforderungen an kulturelle Einrichtungen. Die ZAK NRW beschäftigt sich gemeinsam mit den Kultureinrichtungen damit, wie sie erfolgreich neue Zielgruppen ansprechen können und gleichzeitig ihr eigenes Angebot zukunftsfähig machen können.