• Simon Bierwald © Stiftung Mercator

Executive Bodies

The General Assembly decides on the implementation of the foundation’s mission, determines the medium-term financial planning and, on this basis, approves the annual budget. It appoints the members of the Advisory Board and the Executive Board.

The Advisory Board decides on whether to approve projects and funding requests which are presented to it by the Executive Board and exceed 50,000 euros, and establishes the foundation’s overall strategic orientation.
Its members are:

  • Rüdiger Frohn (Chairman),
  • Ira Heß-Weller,
  • Christel Kaufmann-Hocker,
  • Ralf Ruhrmann,
  • Dr Michael Schmidt,
  • Bernhard von Spiczak.

The members of the Executive Board conduct Stiftung Mercator’s business and represent the foundation externally. Furthermore, they make decisions – with the approval of the Advisory Board chairperson – on projects and funding requests which do not exceed a total of 50,000 euros in each individual case.


The members of the Executive Board are:

  • Winfried Kneip,
  • Dr Markus Piduhn,
  • Dr Wolfgang Rohe,
  • Michael Schwarz.