• Alex Büttner © Stiftung Mercator

Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

New prospects for the planet

The Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) was jointly established by Stiftung Mercator and the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)

Preventing dangerous climate change is one of Stiftung Mercator’s central objectives. In establishing the MCC in 2011, its aim was to drive forward research into viable ways of reconciling economic growth and climate change mitigation, and to strengthen scientific policy advice in this area.

The Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) is searching for practicable ways of using global resources sustainably – with a view to limiting climate change and controlling its consequences.

When Ottmar Edenhofer looks out of his office window, he sees a more than 100-year-old former gasometer in Schöneberg – a listed landmark in this district of Berlin that once symbolized Germany’s industrialization. “Back then, people felt as if they were embarking on a bright new future; we need to feel the same again today as we move towards a future that is characterized by the idea of sustainability”, says Edenhofer, a Bavarian who is known better than almost any other expert in Germany for his dedication to questions related to climate change. Among other things, Edenhofer is a professor of the economics of climate change at Technische Universität (TU) Berlin. He is also a co-chair of one working group of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change which received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007, the chief economist and deputy director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, and the director of the MCC, based here at the former gasworks next to the gasometer. MCC stands for “Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change” and refers to a joint initiative of Stiftung Mercator and the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research.

Facts

Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

Drawing up “knowledge maps” to show consistent and viable ways of achieving sustainable economic growth and climate mitigation

The challenges posed by climate change present politicians and society as a whole with highly complex tasks. Simply imagining that politicians can set targets and that scientists can then explore the instruments that can be used to achieve these targets most efficiently is not tenable. After all, some of these instruments – such as the increased use of biomass for energy – may have consequences that society is unwilling to bear, such as greater deforestation, higher food prices or the loss of biodiversity. This is where the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) comes in. Its basic idea is that social goals may need to be reviewed and reassessed as we learn more about the consequences of measures aimed at countering climate change and promoting a sustainable economy. New instruments may need to be developed in order to avoid or at least to minimize conflicts between targets.

What are the objectives?

The objective of the MCC is to draw up “knowledge maps” as part of an interactive process of social learning. The maps highlight consistent and viable options for sustainable economic growth and climate mitigation and can be used as the basis for political decision-making. Explicit consideration is given to the risks, uncertainties and value assumptions of the various paths.

How will this be achieved?

Climate change and its consequences are not viewed in isolation by the MCC’s experts – which include economists, natural and social scientists – but always in the context of possible interrelations. To this end, five working groups have been created: from “Economic Growth” and “Land Use, Infrastructure and Transport”, “Resources and International Trade” and “Governance” to “Assessments and Scientific Policy Advice”). The core question to be explored in all their work is as follows: “How can the needs of humankind be reconciled with climate mitigation and the preservation of natural resources and habitats?” The MCC releases publications and its scientists give lectures – as well as answering the questions of the media.

How is the project organized?

A non-profit organization based in Berlin, the MCC was jointly established by Stiftung Mercator and the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK). MCC Director Ottmar Edenhofer is supported by Secretary General Marek Wallenfels, who is responsible for administration, communication, strategy and cooperation.

Fold Unfold

Contribution to society and research

As every Thursday, the senior members of the MCC have come together around the conference table in Edenhofer’s office to discuss the tasks that lie ahead. The first item on the agenda for today is that a leading politician has requested a consultation in order to learn about the results of the latest research into the consequences of climate change. Just another ordinary day at the MCC, in other words.

Two hours later, in the office of MCC Secretary General Brigitte Knopf. The MCC is a research institution dedicated to global commons and climate change – can it be that it is pursuing no lesser goal than to save our planet from environmental harm such as global warming? “We want to provide decision-makers with a solid information basis so that they can preserve the fundamental conditions for human life and enable economic development”, she says. “As scientists, we naturally want at the same time to play our part in the international research landscape – placing a corresponding emphasis on the academic world.”

Maps showing alternative courses of action

“There is no shortage of expert reports on climate change. What is lacking are analyses that gather together experiences of climate policy instruments such as emissions trading in such a way as to support decision-makers and the public in introducing and reforming these instruments”, says Christian Flachsland. He is one of the two heads of the Assessments and Scientific Policy Advice working group. “At the MCC, we draw up maps showing alternative ways of handling global commons such as the atmosphere or social infrastructures such as cities.” Their work is based on a special interpretation of scientific policy advice: “We do not present ready-made action recommendations but view ourselves as cartographers. It is up to politicians themselves to set the course they wish to take.”

The MCC enjoys a high degree of credibility, partly because of the excellent academic reputation of its 30 researchers and total staff of 40, and partly because of the independent research work it is able to carry out thanks to the funding it receives from Stiftung Mercator. The foundation is making available around 17 million euros to the MCC over a period of eight years – the highest individual funding grant ever provided by a private foundation in Germany in the field of climate change.

Highlighting viable paths and ensuring sustainable growth

It appears as if climate change is not currently the main focus in the public debate in Germany. Knopf nods. “The issue is subject to the usual media fluctuations”, the MCC expert explains, though she goes on to say that this is not because the problem has become any the less urgent. On the contrary, the situation is more dramatic than is generally thought. Nonetheless, climate change and its consequences are not viewed in isolation by the MCC’s experts – which include economists, natural and social scientists – but always in the context of possible interrelations. Research into such correlations is conducted by five working groups (from “Economic Growth” and “Land Use, Infrastructure and Transport”, “Resources and International Trade” and “Governance” to “Assessments and Scientific Policy Advice”). The core question to be explored in all their work is as follows: “How can the needs of humankind be reconciled with climate mitigation and the preservation of natural resources and habitats?” After all, according to the MCC’s philosophy it helps no-one to discuss measures that will never have any hope of being implemented because their side effects would be intolerable for nations and their populations. The premise applied in the organization’s work is therefore that economic growth is needed, but that such growth must be sustainable. Highlighting viable paths and offering solutions for improvement despite the very real threat posed by climate change – that is the objective of the MCC.

What concrete form might such possible solutions take? Felix Creutzig, who heads the Land Use, Infrastructure and Transport working group, names one example: the mayors of big cities have to battle on a daily basis with traffic problems such as congestion and air pollution, so climate change is something of a side issue for them. On the other hand, if they are presented with smart transport concepts that reduce congestion and urban pollution, while at the same time reducing harmful carbon emissions, they will be all ears. Anyone then able to demonstrate that building an underground railway may be very expensive but can be financed out of the value it subsequently adds to inner-city real estate will certainly be able to convince a city mayor. “Co-benefit” is the magic word, says Creutzig, and a way in which to make climate policy work in practice. Or to put it somewhat less scientifically – killing several birds with one stone.

Project manager

Dr Klaus Kordowski
Dr Klaus Kordowski
Project Manager
+49 201 24522-846
xynhf.xbeqbjfxv@fgvsghat-zrepngbe.qr

Press contact

 Cathrin Sengpiehl
Cathrin Sengpiehl
Communication Manager Press
+49 201 24522-841
pngueva.fratcvruy@fgvsghat-zrepngbe.qr

Stiftung Mercator’s contribution

Approved funding: 16,915,000 € Duration: 2011 - 2018

Additional information

www.mcc-berlin.net

Project news

A press release of Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

Felix Creutzig appointed professor

Head of MCC working group assumes chair at TU Berlin—Former MCC researcher also appointed to [...]

A press release des Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

Tracking the Paris goals – indicators for progress

Current emission slowdown might be in line with 2-degree goal — but new study highlights reasons for [...]

A press release of Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change

Global CO2 emissions growth nearly flat for third successive year

Global Carbon Project estimates 36.4 Gt CO2 for 2016 – MCC: Not aligned with two degrees target

Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

Neue Perspektiven für die Welt

Das Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) ist eine gemeinsame Gründung der Stiftung Mercator und des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK)

Die Vermeidung eines gefährlichen Klimawandels ist ein zentrales Ziel der Stiftung Mercator. Mit der Gründung des MCC im Jahr 2011 will sie die Erforschung gangbarer Wege für die Vereinbarkeit von Wirtschaftswachstum und Klimaschutz voranbringen und die wissenschaftliche Politikberatung in diesem Themenfeld stärken.

Das Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) sucht nach praktikablen Wegen, wie sich globale Ressourcen nachhaltig nutzen lassen – und so der Klimawandel begrenzt und die Folgen beherrscht werden können.

Wenn Ottmar Edenhofer aus dem Fenster seines Büros schaut, blickt er auf den mehr als 100 Jahre alten ehemaligen Gasometer in Schöneberg – ein denkmalgeschützes Wahrzeichen des Berliner Stadtteils, das einst für die Industrialisierung Deutschlands stand. „Diesen Aufbruchsgedanken von damals brauchen wir auch jetzt auf dem Weg in eine Zukunft, die von dem Gedanken der Nachhaltigkeit geprägt ist“, sagt Edenhofer, der wie kaum ein zweiter Experte in Deutschland für das Thema „Folgen des Klimawandels“ steht, mit seinem bayerischen Akzent. Edenhofer ist unter anderem Professor für die Ökonomie des Klimawandels an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Er gehört dem Weltklimarat an, dem 2007 der Friedensnobelpreis verliehen wurde, er ist Chefökonom und stellvertretender Direktor des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung – und er ist Direktor des MCC, das hier auf dem ehemaligen Gaswerksgelände neben dem Gasometer sitzt. MCC, das Kürzel steht für „Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change“ und dahinter steckt ein gemeinsames Engagement der Stiftung Mercator und des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung, dessen stellvertretender Direktor und Chefökonom ebenfalls Ottmar Edenhofer ist.

Fakten

Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

„Landkarten des Wissens“ über konsistente und gangbare Möglichkeiten für nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum erstellen

Die Herausforderungen durch den Klimawandel stellen Politik und Gesellschaft vor Aufgaben hoher Komplexität. Die einfache Vorstellung, dass die Politik die Ziele einmal festlegt und die Wissenschaft dann die Mittel prüft, mit denen diese Ziele am effizientesten erreicht werden können, ist dabei nicht haltbar. Denn manche Mittel – etwa die verstärkte Verwendung von Biomasse für den Energiebedarf – können gesellschaftlich untragbare Konsequenzen haben – etwa eine vermehrte Entwaldung, höhere Nahrungsmittelpreise und den Verlust von Artenvielfalt. Hier setzt das Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) an. Die Grundidee ist, dass angesichts des Lernens über die Folgen von Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel und für eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft gesellschaftliche Ziele gegebenenfalls überprüft und neu bewertet werden müssen. Die Entwicklung neuer Mittel kann erforderlich werden, um Zielkonflikte zu vermeiden oder wenigstens zu minimieren.

Was sind die Ziele?

Das MCC hat das Ziel, in einem interaktiven gesellschaftlichen Lernprozess sogenannte „Landkarten des Wissens“ über stimmige und gangbare Optionen für nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum zu erstellen, die der Politik als Entscheidungsgrundlage dienen sollen. Dabei werden Risiken, Unsicherheiten und Wertannahmen verschiedener Pfade explizit berücksichtigt.

Wie sieht die Umsetzung aus?

Der Klimawandel und seine Folgen werden von den MCC-Experten, darunter Ökonomen, Natur- und Sozialwissenschaftler, nicht isoliert betrachtet, sondern stets im Kontext möglicher Zusammenhänge. Fünf Arbeitsgruppen wurden dafür gebildet: von „Wirtschaftswachstum“ über „Landnutzung, Infrastruktur und Transport“, „Ressourcen und Internationaler Handel“, „Governance“ bis hin zu „Assessments und wissenschaftliche Politikberatung“. Die Kernfragestellung bei allen Betrachtungen: „Wie lassen sich die Bedürfnisse der Menschen in Einklang bringen mit Klimaschutz und der Bewahrung natürlicher Ressourcen und Lebensräume?“ Das MCC gibt Publikationen heraus, die Wissenschaftler halten Fachvorträge – und sie stehen Medien als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung.

Wie ist das Projekt organisiert?

Das MCC ist eine gemeinnützige Gesellschaft mit Sitz in Berlin, die gemeinsam von der Stiftung Mercator und dem Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK) gegründet wurde.

Einklappen Aufklappen

Beitrag für die Gesellschaft und die Forschung

Die führenden Köpfe des MCC haben sich heute, wie an jedem Donnerstag, am Konferenztisch in Edenhofers Büro zusammengefunden, um sich über anstehende Aufgaben zu beraten. Das erste Thema heute: Ein prominenter Politiker hat um einen Gesprächstermin gebeten, um sich über die Ergebnisse aktueller Forschung zu den Klimafolgen zu informieren. Alltag im MCC.

Zwei Stunden später, im Arbeitszimmer der MCC-Generalsekretärin Brigitte Knopf. Das MCC ist eine Forschungseinrichtung, die sich globaler Gemeinschaftsgüter und dem Klimawandel widmet – zielt das auf nichts Geringeres als die Rettung der von Umweltschäden wie dem Treibhauseffekt bedrohten Erde? „Wir wollen Entscheidern die Grundlage dafür liefern, damit sie die menschliche Lebensgrundlage erhalten und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung ermöglichen können“, sagt sie. „Gleichzeitig wollen wir als Wissenschaftler natürlich unseren Beitrag in der internationalen Forschungslandschaft leisten – mit entsprechenden Akzenten in der akademischen Welt.“

Landkarten alternativer Handlungspfade

„Expertisen zum Klimawandel gibt es zwar reichlich. Was fehlt sind Analysen, in denen Erfahrungen mit klimapolitischen Instrumenten wie etwa dem Emissionshandel so zusammengetragen werden, dass sie Entscheidungsträger und Öffentlichkeit bei der Einführung und Reform dieser Instrumente unterstützen“, sagt Christian Flachsland. Er ist einer der beiden Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe Assessments und wissenschaftliche Politikberatung. „Am MCC erstellen wir Landkarten über alternative Handlungspfade zum Umgang mit globalen Gemeinschaftsgütern wie der Atmosphäre oder sozialen Infrastrukturen wie den Städten.“ Dahinter steht ein besonderes Verständnis von wissenschaftlicher Politikberatung: „Wir präsentieren keine fertigen Handlungsempfehlungen, sondern wir verstehen uns als Kartografen. Es bleibt der Politik überlassen, welchen Kurs sie einschlägt.“

Das MCC verfügt über ein hohes Maß an Glaubwürdigkeit, was zum einen an der hohen wissenschaftlichen Reputation seiner 30 Forscher und insgesamt 40 Mitarbeiter liegt, zum anderen an der Unabhängigkeit der Forschungsarbeit, die die Finanzierung durch die Stiftung Mercator mit sich bringt. Für acht Jahre stellt sie rund 17 Millionen Euro für das MCC zur Verfügung – die höchste je von einer privaten Stiftung in Deutschland im Klimabereich getätigte Einzelförderung.

Gangbare Wege aufzeigen und nachhaltiges Wachstum sichern

Der Klimawandel, so ist der Eindruck, steht derzeit nicht im Fokus der öffentlichen Debatte in Deutschland. Knopf nickt. „Das Thema unterliegt den natürlichen medialen Wellen“, sagt sie. In einer abnehmenden Dringlichkeit des Problems liege das aber nicht begründet. Im Gegenteil, so ist von den MCC-Experten zu hören: Die Situation sei dramatischer, als im Allgemeinen gedacht werde. Gleichwohl: Der Klimawandel und seine Folgen werden von den MCC-Experten, darunter Ökonomen, Natur- und Sozialwissenschaftler, nicht isoliert betrachtet, sondern stets im Kontext möglicher Zusammenhänge. Fünf Arbeitsgruppen (von „Wirtschaftswachstum“ über „Landnutzung, Infrastruktur und Transport“, „Ressourcen und Internationaler Handel“, „Governance“ bis hin zu „Assessments und wissenschaftliche Politikberatung“) sollen dazu forschen. Die Kernfragestellung bei allen Betrachtungen: „Wie lassen sich die Bedürfnisse der Menschen in Einklang bringen mit Klimaschutz und der Bewahrung natürlicher Ressourcen und Lebensräume?“ Denn schließlich, so das MCC-Verständnis, hilft es ja niemandem, Maßnahmen zu diskutieren, die ohnehin keine Chance auf Umsetzung haben, weil die Nebenwirkungen für Staaten und ihre Bevölkerungen untragbar wären. Deshalb gilt die Prämisse: Wachstum – ja, aber nachhaltig. Gangbare Wege aufzeigen, trotz der realen Bedrohung durch den Klimawandel Hoffnung auf Besserung machen, dies ist der Ansatz des MCC.

Wie können solche Lösungsvorschläge konkret aussehen? Felix Creutzig, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe „Landnutzung, Infrastruktur und Transport“, nennt ein Beispiel: Bürgermeister von Großstädten hätten sich täglich mit Verkehrsproblemen wie Staus und Luftverschmutzung herumzuschlagen. Der Klimawandel sei für sie ein eher nebensächliches Thema. Wer ihnen allerdings intelligente Verkehrskonzepte präsentiere, mit denen Staus und Luftverschmutzung reduziert werden und, nebenbei, sich der klimaschädliche CO₂-Ausstoß senken lässt, der stoße auf offene Ohren. Wer dann noch vorrechnen könne, dass der Bau einer U-Bahn zwar sehr teuer, über den im Anschluss erfolgenden Wertzuwachs der Grundstücke in einer City aber finanzierbar sei, der könne Bürgermeister dann auch überzeugen. „Co-Benefit“, Nebennutzen, so heißt laut Creutzig eine erfolgversprechende Formel, mit der sich Klimapolitik praxisrelevant machen lässt. Weniger wissenschaftlich ausgedrückt: Mehrere Fliegen mit einer Klappe schlagen.

Geschichten aus dem Projekt

Videos

Social Media-Element anzeigen (Mehr über Datenschutz und Social Media)
Mehr auf YouTube

Projektmanager

Dr. Klaus Kordowski
Dr. Klaus Kordowski
Projektmanager
+49 201 24522-846
xynhf.xbeqbjfxv@fgvsghat-zrepngbe.qr

Beitrag der Stiftung

Bewilligte Summe: 16.915.000 € Laufzeit: 2011 - 2018

Zusätzliche Infos

www.mcc-berlin.net

Aktuelles aus dem Projekt

Pressemitteilung des Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

Warum Klimapolitik für die Finanzminister der G20 wichtig ist

Mit CO2-Bepreisung sinkende Steuereinnahmen auffangen und weltweit Infrastruktur finanzieren

Pressemitteilung des Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)

MCC beste Klima-Denkfabrik in Europa

Ranking des ICCG sieht MCC zum vierten Mal in Folge unter den Top Ten der Think-Tanks weltweit

Veranstaltung auf Einladung der Stiftung Mercator

Buchvorstellung: "Klimapolitik. Ziele, Konflikte, Lösungen" von Ottmar Edenhofer [...]

15.05.2017 13:00 Uhr – ProjektZentrum Berlin

Presseschau

Frankfurter Rundschau

Neues Konzept für Öko-Steuerreform

Unsere Partnergesellschaft MCC schlägt vor, Geringverdiener mit den Einnahmen aus einer CO2-Abgabe zu entlasten.

FAZ.net

Pariser Vereinbarung: Ist das Klimaabkommen jetzt gerettet?

Der Artikel zum 2 Grad Ziel zitiert die Einschätzung des MCC.

SPIEGEL Online

Druck auf Trump - Ölmultis in den USA wollen im Klimaschutzvertrag bleiben

Der Artikel über Trumps Pläne im Klimaschutz zitiert die Einschätzung von Ottmar Edenhofer, Direktor des MCC.

taz.de

Den Kreislauf der Zerstörung unterbrechen

Ein Interview mit Klima-Ökonom Ottmar Edenhofer zum fehlenden Engagement der christlichen Kirchen gegen den Klimawandel.

taz.de

Null Steuergeld für Klimakiller

Der Artikel greift eine Studie auf, an der Ottmar Edenhofer (Mercator-Institut MCC) mitgearbeitet hat.

idw - Informationsdienst Wissenschaft

MCC beste Klima-Denkfabrik in Europa

Das Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) ist laut ICCG Europas führendes Forschungsinstitut im Bereich Klimawandel  [...]