Agora Energiewende

Making the energy transition a success

Agora Energiewende is a joint initiative of Stiftung Mercator and the European Climate Foundation

Preventing dangerous climate change is one of Stiftung Mercator’s central objectives, which is why it is committed to a successful energy transition in Germany as a trigger for global climate change mitigation. In establishing the Agora Energiewende in 2013, it created an independent think tank and discussion platform which joins actors from politics, civil society, business and academia in searching for ways in which to design an electricity supply system based on renewable energies.

Politicians in Germany have set themselves the ambitious goal of restructuring the energy sector and moving from coal-based and nuclear power to wind and solar energy. The Agora Energiewende illustrates possible ways of achieving this.

At first glance, the efforts to find solutions to what is probably the toughest political challenge just now appear somewhat unspectacular: a meeting room, a dozen or so experts, some maps on the wall – and a pin board on which Patrick Graichen is attaching cards about the “transmission price”. In actual fact, Graichen, formerly a longstanding section head at the Federal Environment Ministry, is one of Germany’s leading experts on practical questions of energy policy, and decision-makers from renowned institutions – utility companies, consumer associations, unions, ministries at federal and state level, and universities – have assembled in the meeting room. Here, at the offices of the Agora Energiewende in Berlin’s Rosenstrasse, they are discussing the framework conditions that have a major bearing on the energy transition.

Facts

Agora Energiewende

Making an economic success story of Germany’s transition to renewable energies

By 2050, Germany’s goal is to switch its electricity production more or less completely to renewable energies and to reduce the emission of greenhouse gases by 80 to 95 percent as compared with the country’s 1990 levels. This timescale and the ambitious targets make the energy transition one of the world’s most forward-looking undertakings – a project for an entire generation. If it proves possible to entirely restructure the energy system of the world’s fourth-largest economy and make it an economic success story, this will be extremely motivating for other countries around the world.

What are the objectives?

Switching to renewable energies will be possible in a number of different ways. The Agora Energiewende intends to highlight various scientifically founded and calculated paths and make clear the consequences that each would entail. It is then up to politicians to decide which path is best.

How will this be achieved?

Proven expertise forms the technical basis for Agora’s work, for which a research budget and a network of scientists are available. Decision-makers from Germany’s federal and state governments, business and civil society leaders, academics and other information disseminators meet regularly – they make up the Council of the Agora. In addition, public workshops, conferences and meetings to discuss the relevant issues are held.

How is the project organized?

Agora Energiewende is a branch of the non-profit Smart Energy for Europe Platform (SEFEP) gGmbH founded by Essen-based Stiftung Mercator and the European Climate Foundation. The European Climate Foundation is a joint initiative of several large and internationally-active foundations from Europe and the United States and aims to counter the risk of global warming.

Fold Unfold

Discussing the challenges of the energy transition

Two hours earlier, we’re in the office of Patrick Graichen, Agora’s director. We ask what the name Agora actually stands for, and learn from Graichen that it refers to the central point of assembly in an Ancient Greek polis where citizens would come together to discuss politics and wrangle over solutions to social problems. The name of the institution, which was launched in 2012 by Stiftung Mercator and the European Climate Foundation and will receive 14 million euros in funding up to 2017, is apt: experts will meet here to discuss not only today, but also in the future. Time and time again, the Agora Energiewende will invite specialists to workshops, conferences and meetings where they will talk about how Germany, a leading industrialized country, can be supplied predominantly with renewable energies. One permanent body is the “Council of the Agora”, which is made up of around 25 decision-makers from politics, society and industry. The Council meets every three months to discuss the future challenges of the energy transition.

So is it in fact possible for Germany to be supplied predominantly from renewable energy sources? “There is broad consensus, in society as a whole and across party lines, that we want to do something to counter climate change”, says Graichen, an economist and political scientist – first and foremost by using cost-efficient energy from wind and solar power. Germany has already decided that it will phase out nuclear power by 2022 and reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by 80 to 95 percent by 2050. As Graichen explains: “It’s no longer a question of whether we wish to implement the energy transition, but how.”

Understanding the options for action and discussing political alternatives

It is the “how” that is causing the problems, however: how can the energy transition be implemented in technical terms? Who will invest how much? And how can the interests of the various stakeholders – such as utility companies and consumers – be reconciled in a way that is fair? These are complex questions that a government is hardly in a position to answer on its own without expert and independent advice. “Our aim is to arrive at a common view of the problem, to understand our various options and to discuss political alternatives – on a basis that is scientifically well founded”, explains Graichen, who describes the Agora Energiewende as a “think tank and political workshop”. Initially, work will focus solely on the question of electricity, assuming that once solutions have been found for this sector, it will be possible to tackle the other two major energy sectors – heating and transport – more easily.

Making complex matters understandable

The meetings of the experts take place in an atmosphere of mutual trust. All scientific reports and findings are published, and a large number of public events are held. “Everyone should have the chance to understand what prompts us to draw our conclusions”, emphasizes Graichen. The Agora Energiewende is no back room affair. Public relations is in any case an important part of the work of the 15 staff members – most of whom are scientists in areas related to the issue at stake: experts in the political and social sciences, economists and natural scientists. They are much in demand by the media when the advice of independent experts is needed. “We translate what are often fairly complex matters into language that people can understand”, explains Graichen, meaning that journalists are able to work with the information. What is important is for the general public to be given information that they can process so that the discussion can take place on a correct and factual basis.

The Agora Energiewende also enriches the debate about the German energy transition on an international level. After all, neighbouring countries whose electricity grids are connected to the German grid will be directly affected when Germany’s electricity generation fluctuates more than in the past because production has been switched to wind and solar power. “The energy transition will only work if it is embedded within the European context”, stresses Agora’s director. Three senior associates of Polish, French and Austrian origin have thus been engaged with the specific remit of informing decision-makers and media in cities such as Warsaw, Prague, Vienna, Brussels and The Hague.

Assuming Germany’s energy transition is a success, it will indeed serve as a role model for many other countries, given that climate change is very much a global problem. “If we manage to entirely restructure the energy system of the world’s fourth-largest economy and make it an economic success story, this will be extremely motivating for other countries around the world”, says Graichen. As he adds: “We have no choice but to achieve its successful implementation.”

Project manager

 Charlotte Ruhbaum
Charlotte Ruhbaum
Project Manager
+49 201 24522-45
puneybggr.ehuonhz@fgvsghat-zrepngbe.qr

Stiftung Mercator’s contribution

Approved funding: 9,321,000 € Duration: 2012 - 2017

Additional information

www.agora-energiewende.de

Project news

Associate – Energy Transition in Southeast Europe (m/f)

To strengthen our team, we are seeking to hire at the earliest possible starting date an Associate [...]

A press release from Agora Energiewende

How cross-border electricity trading can work better

The rules on the electricity markets in the countries of Central Western Europe differ widely from [...]

A press release from Stiftung Mercator

Stiftung Mercator and European Climate Foundation extend funding of Agora [...]

Evaluations have shown that both initiatives have established themselves as highly regarded sources [...]

• Alex Büttner © Stiftung Mercator

Agora Energiewende

Die Energiewende zum Erfolg bringen

Die Agora Energiewende ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der Stiftung Mercator und der European Climate Foundation

Die Vermeidung eines gefährlichen Klimawandels ist ein zentrales Ziel der Stiftung Mercator. Daher setzt sie sich für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende in Deutschland als Motor für globalen Klimaschutz ein. Mit der Agora Energiewende hat sie 2013 eine Institution ins Leben gerufen, die als unabhängige Denkfabrik und Diskussionsplattform gemeinsam mit Akteuren aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft nach Lösungen sucht, wie ein auf Erneuerbaren Energien basierendes Stromsystem gestaltet werden kann.

Mit dem Umbau der Stromversorgung weg von Kohle- und Kernkraft hin zu Wind- und Sonnenenergie hat sich die deutsche Politik ein ehrgeiziges Ziel gesetzt. Die Agora Energiewende zeigt mögliche Wege dorthin auf.

Die Arbeit an Lösungen für die derzeit wohl anspruchsvollste politische Aufgabe kommt auf den ersten Blick recht unspektakulär daher. Ein Versammlungsraum, ein gutes Dutzend Experten, einige Landkarten an der Wand – und eine Pinnwand, auf die Patrick Graichen Kärtchen zum Thema „Durchleitungspreis“ steckt. Tatsächlich ist Graichen, früher langjähriger Referatsleiter im Bundesumweltministerium, einer der angesehensten Experten in Deutschland für praktische Fragen der Energiepolitik, und im Versammlungsraum haben sich Entscheider namhafter damit befasster Institutionen – Versorgungsunternehmen, Verbraucherverbände, Gewerkschaften, Ministerien aus Bund und Ländern sowie Hochschulen – zusammengefunden. Sie sprechen hier, im Konferenzraum der Agora Energiewende an der Rosenstraße in Berlin, über Rahmenbedingungen, die großen Einfluss auf die Energiewende haben.

Fakten

Agora Energiewende

Den Umstieg in Deutschland auf erneuerbare Energien zu einer ökonomischen Erfolgsgeschichte machen.

Bis 2050 hat sich Deutschland vorgenommen, die Stromerzeugung praktisch komplett auf erneuerbare Energien umzustellen und den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen um 80 bis 95 Prozent gegenüber 1990 zu senken. Dieser Zeithorizont und die ambitionierten Ziele machen die Energiewende zu einem weltweit wegweisenden Unterfangen – und zum Projekt einer ganzen Generation. Gelingt es, das Energiesystem der viertgrößten Volkswirtschaft der Welt komplett umzubauen und zu einer ökonomischen Erfolgsgeschichte zu machen, wird davon weltweit eine große Schubkraft ausgehen.

Was sind die Ziele?

Der Umstieg auf erneuerbare Energien wird auf verschiedenen Wegen möglich sein. Die Agora Energiewende will belastbare, wissenschaftlich durchgerechnete Pfade aufzeigen und deutlich machen, welche Folgen damit jeweils verbunden sind. Dann muss die Politik entscheiden.

Wie sieht die Umsetzung aus?

Ausgewiesene Fachexpertise bildet die fachliche Grundlage für die Arbeit der Agora. Hierfür stehen ein Forschungsbudget und ein wissenschaftliches Netzwerk zur Verfügung. Entscheidungsträger aus Bund und Ländern, Köpfe aus der Wirtschaft und der Zivilgesellschaft, Wissenschaftler sowie weitere Multiplikatoren kommen regelmäßig als Rat der Agora zusammen. Darüber hinaus finden Workshops, Tagungen und Konferenzen zu den relevanten Themen statt.

Wie ist das Projekt organisiert?

Agora Energiewende ist ein Geschäftsbereich der gemeinnützigen Smart Energy for Europe Plattform (SEFEP) GmbH. Deren Gesellschafter sind die Stiftung Mercator mit Sitz in Essen sowie die European Climate Foundation. Die European Climate Foundation ist eine Gemeinschaftsinitiative mehrerer großer, international tätiger Stiftungen aus Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten gegen die drohende Erdüberhitzung.

Einklappen Aufklappen

Herausforderungen der Energiewende diskutieren

Zwei Stunden zuvor, im Arbeitszimmer von Graichen, dem Direktor der Agora. Wofür steht der Name Agora? Für den Versammlungsort der Polis im antiken Griechenland – dem zentralen Platz also, auf dem die Bürger über Politik diskutierten und um Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme rangen, erklärt Graichen. Der Name der von der Stiftung Mercator und der European Climate Foundation 2012 ins Leben gerufenen und bis 2017 mit 14 Millionen Euro finanzierten Institution ist Programm: Nicht nur heute wird hier später die Expertenrunde tagen. Immer wieder kommen Fachleute auf Einladung der Agora Energiewende zusammen, um in Workshops, Konferenzen und Tagungen darüber zu sprechen, wie Deutschland als bedeutender Industriestaat vorwiegend mit erneuerbaren Energien versorgt werden kann. Eine feste Instanz ist der „Rat der Agora“, er setzt sich zusammen aus rund 25 Entscheidern aus Politik, Gesellschaft und Industrie. Der Rat trifft sich alle drei Monate, um die künftigen Herausforderungen der Energiewende zu diskutieren.

Kann sich Deutschland denn vorwiegend mit erneuerbaren Energien versorgen? „Es besteht ein breiter gesellschaftlicher und parteiübergreifender Konsens, dass wir dem Klimawandel etwas entgegensetzen wollen“, sagt der Volkswirt und Politikwissenschaftler – nämlich vor allem kostengünstigen Strom aus Wind- und Sonnenkraft. Der Ausstieg aus der Kernenergie bis 2022 und die Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen um 80 bis 95 Prozent bis 2050 sind in Deutschland beschlossene Sache. Graichen: „Es geht nicht mehr um das Ob, sondern um das Wie der Energiewende.“

Handlungsoptionen verstehen und politische Alternativen diskutieren

Beim Wie aber beginnen die Probleme: Wie lässt sich die Energiewende technisch bewerkstelligen? Wer investiert dafür wie viel? Und wie lässt sich zwischen den Akteuren, zum Beispiel den Energieversorgern und den Verbrauchern, ein fairer Interessenausgleich herstellen? Komplexe Fragestellungen, die eine Regierung kaum ohne fachlichen und unabhängigen Rat beantworten kann. „Wir wollen ein gemeinsames Problemverständnis entwickeln, die Handlungsoptionen verstehen und politische Alternativen diskutieren – mit einem Maximum an wissenschaftlichem Sachverstand“, erklärt Graichen, der die Agora Energiewende eine „Denk- und Politikwerkstatt“ nennt. Um sich zu fokussieren, beschränkt sich die Arbeit zunächst auf das Thema Strom. Aus dem Kalkül heraus, dass – wenn hier Lösungen gefunden sind – die anderen beiden großen Energiebereiche Heizen und Verkehr daran ausgerichtet werden können.

Komplexe Sachverhalte verständlich machen

Die Experten tagen in vertrauensvoller Atmosphäre. Alle wissenschaftlichen Gutachten und Ergebnisse werden veröffentlicht, zudem findet eine Vielzahl von öffentlichen Veranstaltungen statt. „Jeder soll nachvollziehen können, warum wir welche Schlussfolgerungen ziehen“, betont Graichen. Die Agora Energiewende ist kein Hinterzimmer-Zirkel. Öffentlichkeitsarbeit ist ohnehin ein Schwerpunkt in der Arbeit der insgesamt 15 Mitarbeiter – die meisten davon Wissenschaftler aus Fachbereichen, die mit dem Thema zu tun haben: Politik- und Sozialwissenschaftler, Ökonomen und Naturwissenschaftler. Sie sind gefragte Gesprächspartner für die Medien, die Bedarf haben am Rat unabhängiger Experten. „Wir übersetzen die doch recht komplexen Sachverhalte in eine verständliche Sprache“, erklärt Graichen. So, dass Journalisten damit arbeiten könnten. Wichtig sei, dass beim Bürger handhabbare Informationen ankommen, damit die Diskussion auf sachlich korrektem Fundament stattfinde.

Auch international prägt die Agora Energiewende die Debatte um die deutsche Energiewende. Nachbarstaaten mit ihren Stromnetzen, die mit dem deutschen Netz verbunden sind, werden schließlich unmittelbar betroffen sein, etwa wenn Deutschlands Stromproduktion aufgrund einer Umstellung auf Wind- und Sonnenkraft stärker als bisher schwankt. „Die Energiewende funktioniert nur, wenn sie in den europäischen Kontext eingebettet ist“, betont der Agora-Direktor. Drei Projektleiter mit polnischer, französischer und österreichischer Herkunft kümmern sich deshalb eigens darum, Entscheider und Medien zum Beispiel in Warschau, Prag, Wien, Brüssel und Den Haag zu informieren.

Tatsächlich wird die deutsche Energiewende, sofern sie erfolgreich verläuft, Vorbildcharakter für viele Staaten haben; schließlich ist der Klimawandel ein globales Problem. „Gelingt es, das Energiesystem der viertgrößten Volkswirtschaft der Welt komplett umzubauen und zu einer ökonomischen Erfolgsgeschichte zu machen, wird davon weltweit eine große Schubkraft ausgehen“, sagt Graichen. Und betont: „Wir haben keine andere Wahl, als sie erfolgreich umzusetzen.“

Geschichten aus dem Projekt

Projektmanager

 Philipp Offergeld
Philipp Offergeld
Projektmanager
+49 201 24522-838
cuvyvcc.bssretryq@fgvsghat-zrepngbe.qr

Pressekontakt

 Cathrin Sengpiehl
Cathrin Sengpiehl
Kommunikationsmanagerin Presse
+49 201 24522-841
pngueva.fratcvruy@fgvsghat-zrepngbe.qr

Beitrag der Stiftung

Bewilligte Summe: 10.821.000 € Laufzeit: 2012 - 2017

Zusätzliche Infos

www.agora-energiewende.de

Downloads zum Projekt

IRR Innovationsregion Rheinisches Revier GmbH, Joachim Diehl
Modellergebnisse zu den Agora Kohleausstiegsszenarien, Julius Ecke
Die Energiewende braucht den gestalteten Kohleausstieg, Professor Dr. Martin Faulstich
Elf Eckpunkte für einen Kohlekonsens – Konzept zur schrittweisen Dekarbonisierung des deutschen Stromsektors, Dr. Patrick Graichen
Nationaler Kohlekonsens – einige ökonomische Überlegungen, PD Dr. Christian Growitsch
Zukunft der Energieregion Lausitz als Partner in der Energiewende, Dr. Wolfgang Krüger
Mappe anschauen (0)Sie können in diese Mappe ausgewählte Dokumente ablegen und gesammelt auf Ihren Computer laden.

Aktuelles aus dem Projekt

Pressemitteilung der Agora Energiewende

Wie der grenzüberschreitende Stromhandel besser funktionieren kann

Die Regeln der Strommärkte in den Ländern Zentralwesteuropas unterscheiden sich stark voneinander. [...]

Pressemitteilung der Agora Energiewende

EEG-Umlage steigt 2017 auf gut sieben Cent pro Kilowattstunde

Hauptursache sind gesunkene Strompreise an der Börse, für Konsumenten muss sich daher nichts ändern. [...]

Braunkohleplanung der Länder an nationale Klimaschutzziele anpassen

Genehmigte Tagebaue in Nordrhein-Westfalen, Brandenburg, Sachsen und Sachsen-Anhalt dürfen [...]